Compilation LP


Soundtracks is a compilation of music composed and/or arranged by Philip Brophy for a variety of → ↑ → projects mostly between 1982 and 1983.


Composition, arrangement, synthesizers, keyboards, drums, drum-programming, performance & mix - Philip Brophy
Saxophone - Ralph Traviato (Pop Art)
Guitar - Leigh Parkhill (Pop Art)
Synthesizer - Anthony Montemurro (Pop Art)
Engineering - Brian Parrish (Pop Art)
Bass - Bill McDonald (Magazine)
Ian Cox - saxophone (Magazine)
Martin Plaza - guitar (Magazine)
Violin - Chris (Magazine)
Trumpet - Leona (Magazine)
French horn - Viviene (Magazine)
Engineer - Chris Wyatt (Magazine)


LP released on Present Records


Track "Sexuality" from Performance 2 - Magazine included on the compilation BOXES OF TOYS on Orbeatize Records, Italy

Soundtracks LP poster


From the LP liner notes


Initially made for a video art exchange between Japan (Scan Gallery) and Australia (George Paton Gallery), Ads has since been purchase by the Visual Arts Board for its video catalogue and screened as part of the Sydney Theatre Company's production of Performance 2 - Magazine.

I You We

The first version of I You We was made on Super 8 for ART IN THE AGE OF MECHANICAL REPRODUCTION at the George Paton Gallery in July 1982, and was then remade in its current format for PIRATES & MUTINEERS at Roslyn Oxley Gallery in May 1983.

Pop Art

Pop Art was recorded for one side of a limited edition give-away single at at special night a the Crystal Ballroom in December 1979.

Performance 2 - MAGAZINE

The Sydney Theatre Company's production of Performance 2 - Magazine (conceived by Ralph Kerle, Tim Gooding & Philip Brophy) occurred for one night only in March 1983. The commissioned soundtrack was half original compositions and part cover versions. (Some cover versions here do not contain the vocals which were provided live by John Swan in "What's New Pussycat?", Ross Wilson in "Caravan", and Martin Plaza in "Ruby".)


Soundtracks was compiled and mastered in mid 1983.